EIDX Combined Conference Minutes
Santa Fe, NM – Hosted by EIDX/CompTIA

August 6-9, 2001


EIDX Opening Session

Monday, August 6, 2001
1:30 PM – 3:00 PM
Santa Fe, NM

1.    Call To Order

Dave Weyer called the meeting to order at 1:30 PM. A motion was made and seconded to accept the Minutes from the previous conference. Mr. Weyer addressed the general attendance. He welcomed the first timers and returnees to the CompTIA/EIDX/RUG August conference. He introduced the EIDX Board of Directors and thanked them for their time spent working on the CompTIA/EIDX merge Memorandum of Understanding (MOU). He introduced Dave Sommer, the CompTIA EC Director and thanked him for his numerous contributions to the MOU and EIDX Business Plan. He introduced the Program Coordinators, Kim Albera and Tammy Borgens.

2.    Host – EIDX/CompTIA

Mr. Weyer read the anti-trust disclaimer and then asked Kim Albera to cover the hotel logistics. She announced the social events taking place during the week – the Monday Newcomers Welcome taking place that evening at the pool; the Flamenco Dancing/Dinner Show taking place Tuesday evening for the Quarterly Dinner, the 5K Run on Wednesday morning, and the Theme taking place Wednesday afternoon.

3.    Benefits and Major Accomplishments

Dave Weyer outlined some of the benefits of belonging to EIDX:

Some of the major accomplishments include TART (Technical Architecture Recommendation Team) EC Matrix, PO Core Components, to mention a few.

4.    Nominations for Board of Directors

Linda Zavecz reported that elections for the Board of Directors come up in November. Those whose term of election is expiring include Ken Broz, who resigned, Dave Weyer and Stephenie Cooper. Nominations should be directed to Bill French or Linda Zavecz. Nomination cutoff is Wednesday, August 8th. Board of Directors nomination speeches are scheduled for Wednesday, August 8th at 5:00 PM.

5.    Theme

Roger Trout is the August conference theme coordinator. The theme is “The Missing Link in the Supply Chain: B2B Back-End Integration”. Theme takes place Wednesday afternoon after lunch. Matt Laukaitis of IONA will present on “Back-End Integration: Customer Facing Systems”, Fred Novak and Christopher Carfi of Peregrine Systems will present on “Supplier Facing Systems”, and Roger Trout of Sterling Commerce finishes with “Supplier Implementation”.

6.    Subcommittee Chair Presentations

Roger Trout presented for Promotion/Education and Theme, Chuck Caveney for Business Process and the RosettaNet User Groups, Linda Zavecz for Guidelines & Standards, and Stephenie Cooper for Technology. Each explained the function of the Subcommittees and sessions that were planned for the rest of the week.

7.    Hosting

Tammy Borgens announced that Cyclone Commerce was hosting the Autumn Conference in November and Kim Albera passed out their brochure. The Tuesday Quarterly Dinner will be a western barbeque.

The February conference will be held jointly with OAG. We are still looking for a host for February.

Peregrine is hosting the spring conference in San Diego in May, 2001. Arrangements are currently underway.

8.    Dues/Membership and Benefits of Hosting

Kim Albera addressed the group and explained that dues are $2000/year per company. Companies can send as many employees as they like to all four conferences without incurring additional registration fees of $550/ person (the single registration fee). Companies are invited to attend one meeting free.

She explained that conferences are held quarterly and were usually hosted by a member company and then explained the benefits of hosting an event, who usually attends, and the range in costs. She asked the members to feel free to contact her for more information.

9.    Closing and Adjournment

In closing, Dave Weyer mentioned that if anyone had any questions about the merger with CompTIA, to please attend the Open Board meeting on Wednesday at 8:00 a.m. The meeting adjourned at 3:00 p.m.

EIDX Open Board Meeting
Wednesday, August 8, 2001
8:00 – 9:00 AM
Santa Fe, NM

1.    Call To Order

Dave Weyer called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m. Mountain Time and announced that people should feel free to speak about whatever they like – opinions, issues, etc. In attendance were:

Chuck Caveney/Contivo

Mike Senecal/TexasInstruments

Stephenie Cooper/HP Doug Jones/Agilent
Dave Sommer/CompTIA Sunil Muthiyan/NEC
Thomas Vlach/Intel Bill French/Contivo
Jim Henshall/Philips Semiconductor Dave Weyer/Arrow
Kim Albera/CompTIA David Connelly/OAGI
Debbie Bernas/Philips Semiconductor Larissa Leybovich/Vitria Technology
Roger Trout/Sterling Commerce Ben Brimhall/webMethods

2.    Issues & Opinions

3.    Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at 9:00 a.m.

EIDX BOD Nomination Speeches
Wednesday, August 8, 2001
5:00 – 5:30 PM
Santa Fe, NM

1.    Call To Order

Bill French called the meeting to order at 5:00 PM and introduced the board nominees. The nominees addressed 4 (four) questions in their speeches to those present. The questions were:

1. How long have you been involved with EIDX?
2. What EIDX activities have you been involved with to date?
3. Why do you want to be on the EIDX Board of Directors?
4. What will you contribute to EIDX as a member of the Board?

There are 3 positions to fill on the EIDX BOD and four are running. They are:

1. Doug Jones – Agilent Technologies
2. Helen Shrader – All American
3. Dave Weyer – Arrow Electronics
4. Stephenie Cooper - HP

All nominees were present except Doug Jones, who had already left the conference, but had left his written speech for Bill French to read. Each of the nominee’s biographies will be sent to the voting members and voted upon before the November conference. The new Board of Directors for the term 2001 – 2003 will be announced then.

EIDX Closing Session

Thursday, August 9, 2001
11:00 AM – 11:30 AM
Santa Fe, NM

1.    Call To Order

The meeting was called to order at 11:00 AM. There will be no formal closing session today.

2.    Subcommittee Reports

Closing Presentations will be given to Stephenie Cooper to post to the web. Each of the reports and presentations is attached and is a part of these minutes.

Stephenie Cooper for Linda Zavecz – GSS
Roger Trout – P&E
Chuck Caveney – BPS & RUG
Bill French - TECH

3.    Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 11:30 AM and was conducted in accordance with the EIDX Bylaws.